Make your own free website on

Cameron Judd

Author's Website

About the author
Two chapters of BOONE
--- Books by --- Cameron Judd

About the author:


Throughout most of the 1990s, Judd was a full-time novelist, primarily under contract with Bantam Books. During the 1980s, he worked first as a reporter with the Cookeville Herald Citizen, a staff writer with The Greeneville Sun, then as managing editor of the Sun for six years.

He is a two-time recipient of the Malcolm Law Memorial Award for Investigative Reporting given each year by the Tennessee Associated Press Managing Editors organization. In 1989 he received that award jointly with Greeneville Sun Editor John M. Jones Jr., and in 1990 received the award individually.

Judd, who has been a resident of Greene County since 1982, is a native of Cookeville, Tenn., where he was graduated from Tennessee Technological University in 1979. He holds a B.S. degree in English/journalism and was named an Outstanding Young Alumnus of TTU in 1990. Simultaneously with his Outstanding Young Alumnus honor, Judd was honored by a resolution passed by the Tennessee Legislature in recognition of his rising career as an author.

Judd has appeared as a commentator on a nationally broadcast presentation of the History Channel's "Movies in Time" series. During that broadcast, he compared the historical and legendary aspects of famous frontiersman Daniel Boone.

Since 1980, Judd has written more than 30 novels published across the United States and Canada, with more than two million copies of his novels going into print.

Judd is also the author of one published work of nonfiction, "The Bridge Burners."

Several of Judd's novels featured East Tennessee settings, including "The Overmountain Men," "Boone," "Passage to Natchez," "The Shadow Warriors," and others.

The latter novel, set in the Civil War, made several references to Tusculum College and featured a Tusculum College student as a character.

Two of Judd's novels, "Crockett of Tennessee" and "The Canebrake Men," were among four novels selected by panels of professional authors as national finalists in the Western Writers of America Spur Awards competition in their respective publication years.